Scientific Committee


COVID-19 Research Oversight Committee

Scientific Committee image banner


To lead system efforts associated with oversight, review and coordination of all COVID-19 research opportunities.  Develop and implement research strategies that capitalize on current system capabilities and expertise to better position ourselves for future, high-impact COVID-19 research opportunities. 

Executive Sponsor

Dr. Marjorie Bessel

Chief Clinical Officer

Committee Leads

Dr. Jason Brown

CMO Banner Pharmacy Services

Dr. Eric Reiman

CEO Banner Research

Committee Members

Dr. Christian Bime

Medical Director, Medical Intensive Care Unit, BUMCT

Dr. Elizabeth Connick

Professor of Medicine and Immunobiology Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases

Denise Erickson

Sr. Director, Clinical Pharmacy Services

Dr. Michael Fallon

Executive Director Research, COMP

Dr. Marilyn Glassberg

Division Chief, Pulmonary, Allergy, CC & Sleep Medicine

Maria Gordon

Sr. Manager, Clinical Research, College of Medicine–Tucson

Chad Jaeger

Sr. Director, Banner Research

Mariette Marsh

Sr. Director, Research Ethics & Quality UA

Dr. Jarod Mosier

Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine, BUMCT

Dr. Ayrn O’Connor

Pharmacy and Therapeutics CCG Physician Lead

Dr. Sairam Parthasarathy

Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, CC & Sleep Medicine

Pam Thompson

Director, Academic & Facility Banner Research

Anna Valencia

Sr. Director, Clinical Research Operations COMP

Dr. Jason Wertheim

Vice Dean for Scientific Initiatives UA

Lauren Zajac

Assistant VP, Research Administration UAHS

Pam Thompson, Director, Academic & Facility Banner Research for more information for Phoenix locations.Email Pam
Anna Valencia, Sr. Director, Clinical Research Operations for College of Medicine–Phoenix.
Email Anna
Maria Gordon, Sr. Manager, Clinical Research for College of Medicine–Tucson.
Email Maria